OhioMTA Middle East District

The Middle East District of OhioMTA has two active local sub-chapters.

Western Reserve MTA - Contact President Ed Wiles

Stark County MTA - Contact President Jenna Hoffman

About OhioMTA


Founded 1879 Incorporated 1937

The Ohio Music Teachers Association Middle East District is an organization dedicated to supporting and promoting the study, enjoyment, and development of music in the fourteen county Middle Eastern areas of Ohio.

Counties include:  Carroll, Coshocton, Columbiana, Harrison, Holmes, Jefferson, Mahoning, Medina, Portage, Stark, Summit, Trumbull, Tuscarawas, and Wayne.

Middle East District membership includes music teachers offering instruction in piano, organ, guitar, keyboards, voice, choral music, flute, clarinet, saxophone, violin, and harp.  Many offer specialized education in theory, accompanying, pedagogy, music history, and elementary school music.

Members also include faculty from the University of Akron, Kent State University, Youngstown State University, and Mount Union University.

                                 O      FOR STRENGTH

                                 M     MAINTAIN HIGH STANDARDS

                                 T      TEACH........TO INSPIRE

                                 A      AIM FOR PROGRESS

 The object of the Association is the advancement of musical knowledge and education through discussion, investigation and publication and the promotion of the general welfare of music teachers in Ohio.  It is also the purpose of this Association to promote the interests of American Music with a particular emphasis upon Ohio composers.